“My Heart Is Awake” (Galatians 5: 16, ESV) by Carley Evans

The answer is simple. “Walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh.”

“By faith Moses, when he is grown up, refuses to be called the son of Pharaoh’s daughter, choosing rather to be mistreated with the people of God than to enjoy the fleeting pleasures of sin. He considers the reproach of Christ greater wealth than the treasures of Egypt, for he is looking to the reward.” (Hebrews 11: 24 – 26)

“For the desires of the flesh are against the Spirit, and the desires of the Spirit are against the flesh, for these are opposed to each other.” (Galatians 5: 17)

“And those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.” (Galatians 5: 24)

Yet, “I sleep, but my heart is awake. A sound! My beloved is knocking, ‘Open to me, my sister, my love, my dove, my perfect one, for my head is wet with dew, my locks with the drops of the night.’ I put off my garment; how can I put it on? I have bathed my feet; how can I soil them? My beloved puts his hand to the latch, and my heart is thrilled within me. I arise to open to my beloved, and my hands drip with liquid myrrh, my fingers with liquid myrrh, on the handles of the bolt.” (Song of Solomon 5: 2 – 5)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m so sorry but the ESV is not the King James Version of the Holy Bible revisions are not the original therefore they are the words of the revisionist.

    1. lambskinny says:

      The “original” Bible was written in Hebrew, Greek, and Aramaic; the King James Version is a translation and therefore is also revisionist.

      This is the reason that many people, myself included, read a variety of versions/translations before jumping to any conclusion as to meaning.

      But, thanks for your comment. I haven’t heard that one in a very very long time.

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

