“Go Out In Joy” (Philippians 2: 14 – 16, ESV) by Carley Evans

How do we become blameless and pure and shine like stars in a crooked and depraved generation? Paul says we become such by “doing all things without grumbling or questioning” and by “holding fast to the Word of Life.”

If we hold fast or cling to the Word of God, then we are prepared in every situation so that in a sense nothing surprises us. We are never caught off guard. If we hold fast to God’s Word, then we have no cause to question, complain, grumble about our circumstances.

Paul writes for us to “rejoice in the Lord.” He calls us not to a life of complaining, grumbling, arguing, back-biting, envying, striving, hating, cheating, lying, self-loathing; but to a life of rejoicing in the Lord. We of all people are to be joyful.

“For you shall go out in joy.” (Isaiah 55: 12)

“Ask, and you will receive, that your joy may be full.” (John 16: 22)

49 Comments Add yours

  1. I love your blog!! Continue to fight the good fight of faith!!

    1. lambskinny says:

      Thank you so much, “Other Side Living!” I really appreciate your support, your encouraging comment. Keep coming back! Yay, God!

  2. So you do believe in sinless living!

  3. I guess I should explain my quick comment… I was so impressed with your words which if followed will definitely produce a sin-free life. The joy of the Lord is your strength. Nehemiah 8:10.

    Keeping your mind on the goodness and glory of God is key to keeping your mind off temptations and sinful thoughts and desires. Philippians 4:8, 2 Corinthians 10:3-6.

    With these two things working for you, how can you fail?

    1. lambskinny says:

      You know, I believe God does provide a way out of sin, that He provides us with everything we need to avoid sin; the problem is that our desire sometimes is so strong that we fail to heed God’s still voice telling us to turn away, go through a different door. Sometimes we just want to sin so much we ignore God. Now I know there are those that say, ‘then you are not a Christian.’ But I say, sometimes we are weak and stubborn; and we have to be brought to repentance. God is merciful; He died on the Cross to save us, not to condemn us.

      May we continue to heed Him at all times in all circumstances because He first loved us.

      1. If there is something in you that wants to sin then you are not saved. Now if you through unwatchfulness and not praying and getting the grace you need to stand that day sin, you are still at that point not saved, but you perhaps were saved at one point, but if there’s still a desire to do wrong then you haven’t gotten that desire taken care of in the first place and so you’re not saved.
        Old things are past away… old desires, old feelings, old thought patterns, everything old… all things are become new. 2 Corinthians 5:17. God said, Behold I make all things new. Revelation 21:5
        If you’re made new by God you’re created with a new mind and a new heart that does not desire sin. For to be carnally minded is death Romans 8:6 KJV. The carnal mind is enmity against God… I submit to you that no one with the spirit of Christ desires to sin.
        Perhaps I misread what you’re saying, but my good friend whom I enjoy corresponding with, I do pray that if there is yet a desire in you to sin that overrides your desire to do what you feel God would have you to do, that you repent in a real way and ask God to take such desires from you.
        You can overcome and you can please God on a consistent basis without falling to temptation.

  4. lambskinny says:

    Interesting point of view — I can’t say that I agree with it.

    1. lambskinny says:

      That is a question which has been tossed back and forth over the years between those who believe we can not sin if we are born again and those who know that sin is ever present in our lives, tugging at us and making us fools at times.

      I do not pretend to KNOW the answer to this question. I do think Paul answers it well, however. Many interpret the same verses in opposite ways. Go figure.

      1. If your soul is banking on the answer to this question don’t you think you’d better know for yourself.

        I beseech you to consider the video message at http://www.churchofgodincolumbusga.com carefully and prayerfully make a conscious decision for your self and your eternal life’s sake.

  5. So what is your point of view that God leaves you a slave to sin even after delivering you from… well from what? How can you be delivered from sin if you are still subject to sin?
    If you’re made free indeed aren’t you completely freed from sin?

  6. lambskinny says:

    Hi. I love you in the Lord. I do not claim to have all the answers to these sorts of questions; so I do keep an open mind. If you are free (completely) of sin then you are someone who must be given a level of faith which many, if not most, do not have. Rejoice that God has seen fit to allow you to walk that closely with Him, so close that you do not desire as many do. It is not that we want to sin; rather it is that when temptation comes, we may succumb in the same manner described by Paul. Our inner being is aligned with God’s law, but our flesh battles against our mind — that inner being. Marrying flesh to spirit is not really possible here on earth, or so I believe. I am falling asleep as I write this so I am not sure it makes much sense. More tomorrow. God bless.

    1. Consider Romans the 7th chapter, which I believe you refer: http://csog.webs.com/Romans7.pdf Please read this with that same open mind.

      1. lambskinny says:

        Romans does not teach that we never sin once we become Christians.

        If I never sin, then I am perfect.

        I am not in the least perfect.

        The argument is that we should NOT sin now that we have been purchased for God by the Blood of His Son. We should PUT OFF the old man and PUT ON the new; this implies a day to day activity, not a once and for all event.

        Jesus saves us once and for all, but our Christian life is a walk, a day to day struggle against temptation, spiritual forces of evil, hatred, discontent, and malice.

        Look at how Christians treat each other at times just to see that we still sin.

        Saved; and being perfected.

  7. lambskinny says:

    Absolutely! Thank you for caring, Called Soldier.

  8. Oh, my friend… Understanding that sin is against God, understanding that sin hurts the heart of God, and loving God at the same time, is it so hard to truly humble yourself and get before God and say, Lord, I don’t want to sin against you anymore, I don’t want to hurt you ever again, if it be at all possible, if it is an option… (as the man with the son that had to dumb spirit said to Jesus), If thou canst do any thing, have compassion on me and help me.
    I predict Jesus will answer you the same as He answered that man. If thou canst believe, all things are possible to him that believeth. (ref. Mark 22-23).
    Maybe you’d say as the man said, Lord I believe (I have faith in you, I believe you’re all powerful – able to do whatever you will), help thou my unbelief (but I admit I don’t believe in this area, help me to see and understand your power).

    You see I can keep giving you scripture and you can keep telling me what you believe and don’t believe, but we’ll be commenting over and over and going round and round, but the two questions are these… do you want to sin? Do you want to do what you know God is not pleased with, and if you could live free from sin would you?
    I guess also the factor is are you willing to humble yourself, to come before the God that loves you and that I believe you really desire to serve in the greatest fashion possible, and ask Him to help you stop doing what you’re doing.
    I don’t believe you’re of those who have a sin that they just don’t want to stop doing. I don’t believe you’re of that number, therefore I make this plea with you… As Jesus said, when he came on the scene there in the narrative we just expounded upon, “Bring him to me…” Go straight to the source. Don’t ask this one or that one, don’t believe me or in me, Have faith in God!

    1. lambskinny says:

      Perhaps I chose the wrong words when I said that we want to sin against God; our mind does not, but our flesh does. That is all I meant. Sorry if I led you to believe that I want to hurt our Lord. Thank you for your prayers for me; I so appreciate them and you. God is good.

      1. Whatever does… pray that God can take it from you.

  9. Perhaps that was too simplistic… I responded too quickly for clarity’s sake I believe. The Word lets us know that they that are Christ have crucified the flesh with the affections and the lust. Galatians 5:24

    Also, “Therefore brethren (and sisters), we are debtors, not to the flesh, to live after the flesh. For if ye live after the flesh, ye shall die: but if ye through the Spirit do mortify (kill) the deeds of the body (those sinful things the body wants to do), ye shall live. For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God.” Romans 8:12-14

    1. lambskinny says:

      Called Soldiers,

      You are a delightful Christian. Thanks for caring so much! Do pray for me, that I obey the Lord in all areas of my life. For I am weak, but HE IS STRONG.

      This is all I ever mean to say: that the LORD IS MY STRENGTH for there is NONE in me; that is, in my flesh.

      In Jesus’ Name! Amen.

      1. I am no one to type such things, neither have I any strength except the grace of God.

        2 Corinthians 12:9 sums it up well?: “My grace is sufficient for thee (not just grace for this situation, but God has grace for whatever we face), my strength is made PERFECT in weakness.

        Therefore as Paul said, I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong (verse 10).

        The only thing I have and the only way I have anything is by the grace and help of God. My saving grace is the fact that I came and come boldly to the throne of grace to obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need (Hebrews 4:16).

        So I keep my flesh crucified by my continually coming to the throne of Grace. I am able to go through my trials right because Jesus through His sacrifice made a way for me to approach directly unto and freely access the throne of God’s sufficient and all powerful grace.

        You can have the same testimony by the grace and help of God, therefore who am I? Just someone God had mercy on and saved one day. All praise, honor, and glory to God.

  10. Carley says:

    Called Soldiers, it’s been awhile since I read over this, but I have a quick question — why did Paul need to write to the Corinthian church about so much sin if Christians never sin? I am still confused how you (or anyone) can believe that we never sin, and that if we do sin, we are not Christians.

  11. It’s amazing reading over that how once you were so tenderhearted to almost seem to desire to understand how to not sin against God and had no desire to promote a sinning doctrine, but now looking back at it your perspective is obviously changed.

    We never know when God sets a choice before us or how, but everyone can tell when you’ve made a choice by the very evident effects of the decision you’ve made.

  12. Carley says:

    Called Soldiers,

    Now I am totally confused by that response.

    How is my asking about Paul’s writings a promotion of sin? Paul himself says that we are to shun sin, yet he must and does write to the Corinthians to deal with their sins [which are horrific].

    I only wonder why you think Christians do not sin? What about sins of omission — tasks we should have done, but failed to do?

    I believe the Bible clearly teaches that sin is punishable by death; that Jesus died for that very purpose — to have sin punished in His body for us. I believe the Bible clearly teaches that all sin and fall short of God’s glory and perfection. Through Jesus’ death and resurrection, we are saved.

    This is the gospel — God’s good news.
    This does not and never has promoted sin. In fact, the gospel only promotes God’s grace and mercy.

    God loves you.

    1. I wonder why after two months you came back to this little discussion.

      Nevertheless, I will address your question directly although I don’t feel my answer will change your mindset; which then makes it pointless.

      Now just because people in the Word of God did wrong it does not justify your doing wrong. God will judge every man according to his works, not what they saw someone else do.

      Also as you admitted in February, God does give us all we need to not sin, making us fully responsible for what we choose to do and making God fully justified in what He does in response to that sin.

      Now look at the aforementioned letter to the Corinthian church. Does Paul commend them for the sin going on in that place or does he rebuke them? Does he accept the sin or does he condemn the sin that is going on there? Doesn’t he write to them in a similar voice as I did to you in February? I think if you look at the tone of the letter you might reconsider using this as an example of Christian behavior.

      Now, let’s address this letter more directly, look at 1 Corinthians 5. Paul tells the church, those who are standing, to deliver this man who has committed this heinous act in the midst of the church while claiming to still be saved to satan, so that he might be saved. Expose them as sinners so that he might enjoy true salvation.

      Also Paul goes on to warn the church that one sinner in the midst of the congregation who professes to be saved will corrupt the whole church. So he warns them not to company with fornicators, or covetous, or an idolater, or a railer, or a drunkard or an extortioner…

      Now, Paul makes it clear and distinguishes between those that aren’t saved and do these things verses those who claim to be saved and do them. The sinner is welcomed, but the so-called Christian is to be shunned.

      In verse 13 Paul instructs the church to put away from among them that wicked person.

      In the tenth chapter of

      1. Opps, I messed up there… I didn’t sin but I did make a mistake I meant to add a reference to 1 Corinthians 10:13 Where Paul says, there hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.

        The Word of God lets us know you cannot be partakers of the Lord’s table and, the table of devils (ref. 1 Corinthians 10:21).

        The very Christ that you say died for our sins is the same that condemned sin in the flesh (ref. Romans 8:3).

        I pray God you consider what I say, and that God give you understanding. For I write not these things to condemn you, but to help you… it does me no good to type these things… I don’t get a thrill out of it, but if it be profitable to you that is joyful for me.

        1. lambskinny says:

          Hey Called Soldiers,

          Okay, let’s try this again — seriously, I never said nor implied that Paul commends those who sin. In fact, he is appalled at that very idea just as you and I and anyone who is a Christian is appalled at sin.

          What, says Paul, shall we sin so that grace may increase? God forbid!

          I am saying that no Christian person is perfect while here on earth and that sin does occur in the Church body — whether large or small, sin is sin. An angry moment, a small lie, a moment of jealousy, a covetous thought, failing to pray for an enemy, seeking revenge, gossiping, etc.

          Yes, God provides a way out of temptation; and this is my point — we do not always obey.

          We are, however, covered by the Blood of Jesus Christ as our sins were nailed on the tree with Him. This does not give us permission to sin all we like; on the other hand His death should make us weep, realizing our sins put Him there.

          Just as you say, somehow I doubt I will convince you of God’s grace, but I still wish to present the way I see our God.

          The big difference is that I won’t ever tell you that you are not saved for only God knows your heart.

          Happy Easter; God’s blessings upon you.

          1. I want you to consider Carley (I don’t know if you’re married, but if not imagine for me)… would your husband appreciate it if you cheated on him as often as you were unfaithful to God? Would you appreciate it if your husband was as untrue to you? If just once in a while you invited someone over or went off to spend the night with someone else. Maybe it wasn’t everything, but you just held hands and talked and spent time gazing into each others eyes.

            Well why should you give God whom you profess to love more less?

            Well let me come from a different angle… what is sin? Sin is a transgression of God’s law. Sin comes from the heart of a person. Jesus said, what comes out of a person defiles the person, out of the heart proceed evil thoughts, murders, adulteries, fornications, thefts, false witness, blasphemies… (ref. Matthew 15:19).

            But what is sin? God doesn’t tell us or make laws against us doing anything that is beneficial to us. Everything God denotes as sin is destructive to us and bad for us; so to say that God, who is all powerful and all wise would yet allow us to be under the bondage of sin, or under the yoke of sin is to say that A. God can’t do anything about sin or B. God doesn’t care enough to give us what it takes to break the power of sin in our lives.

            Now God being all powerful and all knowing and all caring, is not unrighteous or unfeeling, but He sent His Son to live a life before us that we might have not only a sacrifice but an example. Not just a lamb for the slaughter, but a high priest who can be touched with the feeling of our infirmity, who was in every point tempted as we are, yet without sin. Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need. (ref. Hebrews 4:15-16).

            Now you’re upset because you say I took your salvation; because I said you weren’t saved if you sin. Well let’s look into the Word of God, for only the Word of God is convincing in this case. For surely the Spirit witnesses with our spirit, but in all that, it doesn’t contradict the Word of God.

            There were those in John 8, that believed on Jesus when He spoke and Jesus said, “If you continue in my word then are ye my disciples indeed.” John 8:31. Continue: to go on without interruption; to endure.

            So you are not continuing if you intermittently sin.
            Now beyond that Jesus said, “Verily, Verily, I say unto you, whosoever committeth sin (singular) is the servant of sin.” When you give in to sin you are not just giving in for that moment, but you’re allowing yourself to be brought back into the bondage of sin.

            Paul said, I will not be brought under the power of any.

            Now if the Son had made you free Carley, you would be free indeed. You wouldn’t be free to go so far, but then when certain pressure comes up you lie or get mad or have some other kind of failure. A leaky roof is fine when it’s not raining… a patched up roof might hold out during a light rain storm, but a true carpenter will be able to build a house in such a way that even in the worst storm, during the worst down pour, at the worst time in your life, you can go through right with a right attitude and a right disposition.
            You can be like Stephen, who being stoned was able to cry out and say, lay not this sin to their charge, but if you’re getting mad when someone cuts you off in traffic you’re don’t have the same salvation Stephen had and that’s the only one that God offers.

            The Word of God lets us know some traits of a Christian: “He that sweareth to his own hurt, and changeth not.” Psalms 15:4

            Now you don’t have to justify yourself to me, I wished rather you would seek God for yourself… I have no heaven or hell to put you in, but we will all be judged by the Word of God, not what someone says about us.

            I wish you did understand the Love of God and the Love in my heart for you… I believe you have a zeal for God, just not according to knowledge. But as it was with Apollos, someone came and showed him the way of truth more plainly and then he went forth for God in a great way and was used mightily of Him.

  13. summathetes says:

    carley, thank you for your kind way of responding to “calledsolidiers” comments. it does seem to me that, in spite of all of his attempting to use Scripture to make his point, the point(s) he seeks to make are not fully Biblical.
    your question about Paul’s words about sin (in the lives of believers!) is so appropriate for not only his letter to the Corinthians–these same thoughts can be found in many of his letters.
    for example . . . moving through Ephesians, it is clear that Paul’s recipients had experienced new life in Jesus–they were “saved” (as evident from 1:3-15). what had happened is that they went from being spiritually “dead” to being made alive by grace through the work of Jesus (2:1-10). but Paul still prayed for their growth in strength through the Spirit and for them to be “filled”–implying that there were still some things “missing” in their lives in Jesus (2:14-21). as he goes on to explain how they are to live in this life that has been given, he speaks about a variety of unhealthy, un-Christlike, and (seemingly) sinful activity (4:1-32). the exhortations in chapter four must mean that those who are alive to God might/could still live in a way that is inconsistent with their new life in Jesus. although no longer “sinners” (but saints=those who are redeemed and made alive to God), they still sometimes sin. Paul doesn’t charge them with not being saved or raise the question of whether they really are God’s children (note 5:1-2), but calls them to live consistent with the new life that is theirs.
    as you have sought to underscore in your comments, through his life and death and resurrection Jesus saves us from sin and makes us alive. however, not all those who are alive live consistent with that newness at all times. this is not to make light of sin in the lives of lambs–only to speak honestly and biblically.
    may the Lord who inspired the Scriptures through the Spirit in order to put the Son on magnificent display continue to guide you in your thinking, your growth in grace, and in the words you share. grace, summathetes

  14. lambskinny says:

    Again — thank you! My salvation has been questioned before, and will be questioned again by others, I am sure.

    It matters not. All that matters is that Jesus died for me; and I stand on nothing less.

    God bless! Carley

  15. summathetes says:

    yes, carley, Jesus died for you . . . and lived for you, and rose for you, and ascended for you, and sent the Spirit for you, and intercedes for you . . . such an amazing Savior. so right to trust in him!
    btw, Philippians is, perhaps, one of my favorite letters . . . been posting on it for some time. 🙂
    grace . . . and nothing more than grace,
    summathetes

  16. lambskinny says:

    Amen, Summathetes! He is born for you, lives for you, die(d) for you, intercedes for you. He is your Savior, Healer, Sanctifier, and King! Praise Jesus!

    My favorite books are Hebrews, Romans, Ephesians, and Job.

    🙂 Happy Easter! Carley

  17. lambskinny says:

    I never implied that God is happy when we sin. God’s wrath against our sin is what put Christ on the cross; what kept Him there was His love for sinners. God died for us when we were still His enemies. His plan is to perfect us over time; it does not happen instantly.

    I’m amazed that you think that you never commit a sin. I wonder why Jesus bothers to intercede for you (for me) for any Christian?

    I believe that the writer of 1 John would say you deceive yourself.

    Praise Jesus for His kindness, His faithfulness to us, His intercession before God.

  18. lambskinny says:

    “But with me it is a very small thing that I should be judged by you or by a human court. In fact, I do not even judge myself. For I know of nothing against myself, yet I am not justified by this; but He who judges me is the Lord. Therefore judge nothing before the time, until the Lord comes, who will both bring to light the hidden things of darkness and reveal the counsels of the hearts. Then each one’s praise will come from God.” (1 Corinthians 4: 3 – 5, NKJV)

  19. lambskinny says:

    Called Soldiers,
    How is it that the Christian Church down through the centuries confesses its sin?

    From the Lutheran bulletin this morning:

    “Lord God, I humbly come before You. I confess that I am sinful in thought, word, and deed. I daily fail to do what You command, and continually do what You forbid. Lord, I am sorry for my sins. I believe that for the sake of my Lord Jesus Christ, You will have mercy on me.”

    Are you saying that this is heretical?

    God bless and keep you.
    Later, Carley

    1. Does it go against the Word of God? Anything that goes against the Word of God is heretical, blasphemous, errant and wrong. This is why Jude exhorted us to earnestly contend for the faith, because already they were creeping in amongst us… the church, the people of God.

      It is a small thing for you to be judged by me, which is why I encouraged you to allow God to anoint your eyes and awaken your mind.

      I pray God will indeed enlighten you and show you His truth. The kingdom of God is not in word, but power.

      John 1:12 says, as many as received Him, them gave He power to become the sons of God.

      Luke 10:19 let’s us know the nature of that power. Behold, I give you power to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy: and nothing shall by any means hurt you.

      Again, I love you, I’m praying for you… I feel I’ve presented this thing to you as clearly as I know how, yet now I leave it with you.

      May God direct you from here.

      1. lambskinny says:

        Dearest Called Soldiers,

        I see you didn’t answer my question. I also feel I’ve presented God’s Truth as clearly as I am able. I, too, pray for you. I am sure that you are saved despite your odd belief that Christians never sin.

        Paul called out to specific Christians to repent of very specific sins. No need to repent if one has not committed a sin.

        Jesus Himself taught the people and His disciples to pray, “Forgive us our sins as we forgive those who sin against us.”
        Surely Jesus knew that mankind would always struggle against the “flesh” for as long as life on earth exists.

        That you feel you never struggle with sin is extraordinary. I still maintain you are deceiving yourself.

        Take care; God bless! Carley

    2. Okay, I thought I did address your question… Never mind that you don’t always address my questions either, Ms. Carley.

      Nevertheless, let’s look more closely at it. What church confesses its sin? Where in the Word of God does that take place? I don’t see where Jesus and the apostles confessed their sin on a daily or regular basis.

      Now I am sure that a person can fall down. It is possible for a person to sin after salvation, but if they do they forfeit their salvation at that point and must repent lest they haply be lost.

      To continue to fall into sin after salvation is not at all in keeping with true deliverance from sin. Therein is what I have stated. Therefore to have the attitude that we sin everyday in word thought or deed if errant and against the word of God.

      The prayer that Jesus taught His disciples to pray, forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us, goes along with what Jesus taught, when you stand praying forgive, or your heavenly Father will not forgive you. If we don’t forgive others, that is a sin, but the Christian heart is a forgiving heart, a loving heart… a gentle heart that cannot hold a grudge or be angry or even stand to see another in danger of torment.

      Now Carley, consider what I say my friend. I feel that my writing to you is not in vain or for any other reason than to tell you this truth. You can live free from sin in this present world, further God requires you to be holy. He wants you all for Himself. Don’t you know how much He loves you and wants you to be His exclusively?

      Don’t you want to live a life free from sin, all pleasing to He that has given his life for you? If it were possible wouldn’t you want to seek it out?

      My friend, I’m pleading with you, going beyond myself, trying to get you to understand what I’m saying. I’m not trying to prove a point or win a contest… I’m writing this in the interest of your soul period. Please do consider it.

  20. Carley says:

    Oh dearest Called Soldiers,
    I know you speak in love. As do I.
    A Christian who loses his or her salvation can NOT come back into repentance unto salvation as is clearly taught in Hebrews 6. That would be re-crucifying our Lord.
    Therefore, once saved, always saved.
    God assures us we belong to Him; He guards us jealously.
    He longs for us to be holy and blameless, and works to make us so. It is a process; not a one-time deal.
    Perhaps we should agree to disagree.
    And yes, I want to live for God. I daily confess my sins, and trust that He is faithful to forgive and restore me. He always lives to intercede for me and for you.
    God is great!
    Love in Christ, Carley

  21. Can two walk together, except they be agreed? – Amos 3:3

    Paul said, Is Christ divided? – 1 Corinthians 1:13

    There is one Lord, one faith, one baptism, One God and Father of all, who is above all, and through all, and in you all. – Ephesians 4:6

    We can’t or shouldn’t be content to disagree, but we should be able to humble ourselves and listen to what each other is saying.

    Now by what you say it seems again contradictory and not quite accurate. If we were once saved always saved, why would Hebrews 6:8 say their end is to be burned?

    Also let’s cross reference Hebrews 10:26-27; “For if we sin willfully after that we have received the knowledge of the truth, there remaineth no more sacrifice for sins. But a certain fearful looking for of judgment and fiery indignation, which shall devour the adversaries.”

    So it doesn’t seem that it is suggesting that you can be once saved and always saved but that you can be once saved and then lost if you go back into sin.

    Some might suggest that they don’t sin willfully, but sin is by definition a willful transgression of the law.

    Let’s look at another passage, Luke 12:41-46.
    Verse 46 says, The Lord of that servant will come in a day when he looketh not for him, and at an hour when he is not aware, and will cut him in sunder and will appoint him his portion with the unbelievers.

    Now those passages suggest that you can be lost after you have been saved; let’s also consider James 5:19-20. It says, if any of you do err from the truth and one convert him; Let him know, that he which converteth the SINNER from the error of his way, shall save a soul from death, and shall hide a multitude of sins.

    So in those verses we see that you can sin, but you become a sinner if you do and then as a sinner you can be converted again by the mercy of God.

    Now the contradiction is that you said that you can’t be brought back by repentance, yet you say you daily confess your sins and trust that He is faithful to forgive and restore you. – if you’re always saved why do you have to repent and be restored?

    What does Hebrews 6 suggest then? There is a certain intimacy with God that we can have and a relationship with Him that if we were to fall from that… then repentance would be impossible. Read the verse: It is very specific of those who its speaking of, “they were once enlightened, and have tasted of the heavenly gift, and were made partakers of the Holy Ghost and have tasted of the good Word of God , and the powers of the world to come…” Paul specifically says, “If they shall fall away…” Not if anyone who ever claimed salvation falls away, but these specific ones who God has manifest Himself to in a certain way.

    I could delve deeper into that but I pray that the Lord give you understanding of my few words.

    A few cross references you might study out also 2 Peter 2:4 and Jude :6.

  22. lambskinny says:

    Okay, I maintain — first — that Jesus never confessed a sin because He never sinned as He is God.

    The early church is called to confess sins “one to another” by James. (James 5: 16)

    Paul rebukes Peter for refusing to eat “unclean” foods. Peter, we presume, repents which I am sure involved some sort of confession of sin. For all wrongdoing is sin.

    And Paul asks Philemon to receive the previously useless Onesimus as a “beloved brother.” Again, I am certain that Onesimus repented to God first but also confessed his sins to Paul and to Philemon (when he arrived).

    Jesus says that if you have anything against your brother, go to him and confess it. Jesus says that if your hand offends you, cut it off.

    Jesus says that salvation is impossible for us to obtain or maintain; that the work is entirely His. We are chosen by Him, called by Him, enabled to believe by Him, sustained by Him, perfected by Him, glorified by Him. Paul makes this abundantly clear in Romans.

    At any rate, God is good and faithful to complete in us the good work He started.

    1. confess and forsake… Dear Carley, confess and forsake them and find mercy.

      He that covereth his sins shall not prosper: but whoso confesseth and forsaketh them shall have mercy. – Proverbs 28:13

      Not continue in them, but when you confess them, forsake them.

      1. lambskinny says:

        Dear Called Soldiers –

        Yes, of course. We are to repent. Repentance is turning from sin to God. I agree. My only issue is that you say we always succeed in doing this; and my response is that God says our salvation is impossible for us in our own power; it is His work, not ours. Sometimes we fail. Sometimes we resist. Sometimes God must discipline us. That is all I maintain. Amen. Praise our God. He is merciful and mighty to save. Carley

  23. Of course it is in His power, but you say it’s not in our power, yet you then say we fail we resist, it’s not in our power, it’s in His power, the only way we can fail or resist is to resist God. To fail to let Him do it and that is opposed to the spirit of Christ dwelling in us. That spirit that says, “I do always those things that please Him.”

    We have nothing to do with our salvation, except to ask for it and receive it. Now when we receive it, it comes standard equipped with power (ref. John 1:12 “To as many as received Him, them gave He POWER to become the Sons of God). We have no part in causes ourselves to be saved, but being saved we have power… power to resist the devil… James 4:7 says submit yourselves therefore to God and resist the devil and he will flee from you. The devil has no power over you once you’re saved. You don’t desire sin and the devil can’t make you sin.

    Whom the Son sets free is free indeed. John 8:34. We’re no longer under a can’t help it spirit, we’re no longer in bondage, but if you sin again, well, whom ye yield yourselves (you did that, it was a choice you made) servants to obey, his servants ye are to whom ye obey. Romans 6:16

    We are changed into the image of Christ and go from glory to glory… the path of the just shines brighter and brighter, we don’t ever get dimmer once Jesus Christ comes into our life, we don’t ever have a less than victorious lifestyle. We should never have to get chastened for doing things we know better than to do. We are not resisting God, but obeying Him. Sometimes we bear the rod of correction, but this is for something we don’t see that God has to enlighten us on, not something we fully know and understand.

    Have people made mistakes and had to be corrected yes. Have some sinned? Yes. But you don’t have to sin and you’re not saved once you sin, you must repent and do your first works over (ref. Revelation 2:5).

  24. lambskinny says:

    “Have some sinned? Yes. But you don’t have to sin and you’re not saved once you sin, you must repent.”

    So Christians do sin.

    Now, the only thing we disagree on —

    I believe that we are saved from eternity; our names written in the Book of Life forever.

    When I sin, I ask forgiveness. And God is faithful and just to forgive me.

    Jesus loves me, this I know
    For the Bible tells me so
    Little ones to Him belong
    They are weak, but He is strong
    Yes, Jesus loves me

    Dearest Called Soldiers…

    1. That’s a gross misinterpretation. You don’t have to sin. Some might sin, but that’s a rarity not the norm. That should never be an acceptable thing.

      To make a statement like “when I sin…” as if it has happened repeatedly and has the chance of happening again at any time is not in keeping with the Word, which says “Whosoever is born of God doth not commit sin; for his seed remaineth in him: and he cannot sin, because he is born of God.” 1 John 3:9

      That is the rule, not Christians do sin… that is a rare and unfortunate event.

      1. lambskinny says:

        Unfortunate event — yes. Rare — I doubt it.

  25. summathetes says:

    Carly,
    I am convinced of the power of the Word of God to open eyes to see truth, but I do wonder whether calledsoldiers is willing to really look at what the Scriptures say.
    Although he insists that saved people cannot and do not sin (and to sin is to lose one’s salvation), I see a different picture in Scripture. Certainly, sin is not to be coddled or tolerated; we are to flee sin, live free. But, the evidence is so clear in Scripture that Christians (not unsaved people and not former Christians who have become unsaved because they sinned) do sin.
    Elders may sin, as Paul seems to indicate in 1 Timothy 5:17-20. Christians might become entangled in sin, according to what the author of Hebrews writes in 12:1-5. Brothers and sisters in Christ might be carried away by sin, as James indicates in 1:13-16. Believers are to confess their sins to one another, as you noted from James 5:15-16. And John would seem to argue that if Christians say that they have no sin, any longer, in their lives, then they are not telling the truth in 1 John 1:5-10. And in Galatians 6:1, Paul insists that a truly spiritual (that is, led by and empowered by the Spirit) believer restores other brethren who have fallen in sin.
    All this to say, that calledsoldiers appears to be special pleading his case, selectively using Scripture to stress things in ways that the Scriptures don’t stress them. And, that is unfortunate.
    I pray that he finds grace . . . and experiences it in a deeper and more Jesus-exalting way.
    Summathetes

    1. lambskinny says:

      Well, of course, I agree with you completely. I have seen this sort of misinterpretation of God’s Holiness before — some people seem incapable of believing that God is forgiving, despite His hatred of sin. God is able to forgive because Jesus died for our sins. Period. Thanks for your comment, Summathetes!

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

