“A Garden Locked” (Song of Solomon 4: 12, ESV) by Carley Evans

Solomon sings, “You have captivated my heart, my sister, my bride; you have captivated my heart with one glance of your eyes, with one jewel of your necklace.” (Song of Solomon 4: 9)

His young bride is “a garden locked.” She is “a spring locked, a fountain sealed.”

She is locked to others, but is expected to be open to him.

She sings, “I sleep, but my heart is awake. A sound! My beloved is knocking, ‘Open to me, my sister, my love, my dove, my perfect one, for my head is wet with dew, my locks with the drops of the night.’ (Song of Solomon 5: 2)

She is sleeping, having bathed and readied herself for her bed. When her lover comes to the door, “[her] fingers drip with liquid myrrh, on the handles of the belt.” (Song of Solomon 5: 5)

When her love comes to the door and “puts his hand to the latch, [her] heart is thrilled within [her.]” (Song of Solomon 5: 4) She rises, but he has turned away. “[Her] soul fails when he speaks. [She] seeks him, but finds him not; [she] calls him, but he gives no answer.” (Song of Solomon 5: 6)

She tells her sisters in Jerusalem that “if [they] find [her] beloved, that [they] tell him [she] is sick with love.” (Song of Solomon 5: 8)

They want to know “what is your beloved more than another?” (Song of Solomon 5: 9)

The young bride to be sings, “My beloved is radiant and ruddy; distinguished among ten thousand. His head is the finest gold; his locks are wavy, black as a raven. His eyes are like doves beside the streams of water, bathed in milk, sitting beside a full pool.” (Song of Solomon 5: 10 – 12)

She goes on, “His mouth is most sweet, and he is altogether desirable. This is my beloved and my friend.” (Song of Solomon 5: 16)

“I am my beloved’s and my beloved is mine.” (Song of Solomon 6: 3)

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

