“Grant Us Life” (Psalm 119: 37, NEB) by Carley Evans

“Grant me life by Your Word.”

Jesus says, “You do not come looking for Me because you see signs, but because you eat the bread and your hunger is satisfied. You must work, not for this perishable food, but for the food that lasts, the food of eternal life. This food the Son of Man gives you, for He it is upon whom God the Father sets the seal of His authority.” (John 6: 26 – 28)

“My Father,” says Jesus, “gives you the real bread from heaven. The bread that God gives comes down from heaven and brings life to the world.” (John 6: 32 – 34)

Jesus claims again that He is “the bread of life,” telling us that “whoever comes to Me shall never be hungry, and whoever believes in Me shall never be thirsty.” (John 6: 35 – 36)

He then tells us that “unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink His blood you can have no life in you. Whoever eats My flesh and drinks My blood possesses eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day. My flesh is real food; my blood is real drink.” (John 6: 53 – 55)

Some who find this shocking say “this is more than we can stomach.” (John 6: 60)

Jesus replies, “This is why I told you that no one can come to Me unless it has been granted to him by My Father.” (John 6: 65)

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

