“In God I Trust” (Psalm 16: 8, NEB) by Carley Evans

“I set the Lord continually before me: with Him at my side I cannot be shaken.”

“When I am afraid, I trust in You. In God, whose Word I praise, in God I trust; I am not afraid. What can mortal man do to me?” (Psalm 56: 3 – 4, NIV) “I say, ‘Oh, I have the wings of a dove! I fly away and am at rest — I flee far away and stay in the desert; I hurry to my place of shelter, far from the tempest and storm.” (Psalm 55: 6 – 8) “In truth [God] is my rock of deliverance, my tower of strength, so that I stand unshaken.” (Psalm 62: 2, NEB) “Oh, my strength, to You I turn in the night-watches; for You, O God, are my strong tower. My God, in His true love, is my champion.” (Psalm 59: 9 – 10)

The psalmist calls God his “place of shelter,” his “rock of deliverance,” his “tower of strength,” and his “champion.” Because God is “at his side,” the psalmist is not afraid. He is able to “stand unshaken” in the midst of his enemies and in the hardest situations: “the tempest and storm.”

The psalmist “sets the Lord continually before [him].” He keeps God’s Word “at [his] side,” practicing the presence of the Lord. In God’s presence, there is no fear. Instead, the psalmist is able to “fly away and be at rest,” to “flee far away” “to [his] place of shelter, far from” disaster.

Keep God close. Jesus says, “Peace is My parting gift to you, My own peace, such as the world cannot give. Set your troubled hearts at rest, and banish your fears.” (John 14: 27 )

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

