“Love Manifests Itself” ( Deuteronomy 13: 4, NEB ) by Carley Evans

“You must follow the Lord your God and fear Him; you must keep His commandments and obey Him, serve Him and hold fast to Him.”

 

Walking along the Sea of Galilee, Jesus sees two fishermen brothers – Simon and Andrew. “Jesus says to them, ‘Come with Me, and I will make you fishers of men.’ And at once they leave their nets and follow Him.” (Matthew 4: 19-20)

 

Jesus may have told them, “Come to Me, [you] whose work is hard, whose load is heavy; and I will give you relief. Bend your necks to My yoke, and learn from Me, for I Am gentle and humble-hearted; and your souls will find relief. For My yoke is good to bear, my load is light.” (Matthew 11: 28-30)

 

The Pharisees want to know what is the greatest commandment. Jesus answers, ” ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind. That is the greatest commandment. It comes first. The second is like it: Love your neighbor as yourself. Everything in the Law and the prophets hangs on these two commandments.’ ” (Matthew 22: 37-40)

 

Love manifests itself, says Jesus. He speaks of the final day when “those on His right hand” receive God’s blessings. “For when I was hungry, you gave Me food; when thirsty, you gave Me drink; when I was a stranger, you took Me into your home, when naked you clothed Me; when I was ill you came to My help, when in prison you visited Me.”  But, those to His right hand do not realize what He is saying to them, so He clarifies: “I tell you this: anything you did for one of My brothers here, however humble, you did for Me.” (Matthew 25:35-37, 40)

 

“In a word, there are three things that last for ever: faith, hope, and love; but the greatest of them all is love. Put love first.” (1 Corinthians 13: 13-14:1)

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

