“Acceptable To God” ( Psalm 19: 14, HCSB ) by Carley Evans

“May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable to You, Lord, my rock and my Redeemer.”

 

Jesus speaks, “Brood of vipers! How can you speak good things when you are evil? For the mouth speaks from the overflow of the heart. A good man produces good things from his storeroom of good, and an evil man produces evil things from his storeroom of evil. I tell you that on the day of judgment people will have to account for every careless word they speak. For by your words you will be acquitted, and by your words you will be condemned.” (Matthew 12: 34-37) “What comes out of the mouth comes from the heart, and this defiles a man. For from the heart come evil thoughts, murders, adulteries, sexual immoralities, thefts, false testimonies, blasphemies. These are the things that defile a man.” (Matthew 15: 18-19)

 

James writes, “If anyone does not stumble in what he says, he is a mature man who is also able to control his whole body… Though the tongue is a small part of the body, it boast great things. Consider how large a forest a small fire ignites. And the tongue is a fire. The tongue, a world of unrighteousness, is placed among the parts of our bodies. It pollutes the whole body, sets the course of life on fire, and is set on fire by hell… No man can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison. We praise our Lord and Father with it, and we curse men who are made in God’s likeness with it. Praising and cursing come out of the same mouth. My brothers, these things should not be this way.” (James 3: 2, 5-10)

 

Our hearts are evil; from this evil we speak and do evil things. Our hearts are not acceptable to God. Our tongues are uncontrollable because our hearts are evil. From within come evil things. Paul tells us, “For I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my flesh. For the desire to do what is good is with me, but there is no ability to do it. For I do not do the good that I want to do, but I practice the evil that I do not want to do. Now if I do what I do not want, I am no longer the one doing it, but it is the sin that lives in me. So I discover this principle: When I want to do good, evil is with me.” (Romans 7: 18-21)

He says, “What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this dying body? I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord!” (Romans 7: 24-25)

 

“This is the message of faith we proclaim: If you confess with your mouth, and believe in your heart that God raised [Jesus] from the dead, you will be saved. One believes with the heart, resulting in righteousness, and one confesses with the mouth, resulting in salvation. Now the Scripture says, ‘Everyone who believes in Him will not be put to shame,’ for there is no distinction… For ‘everyone who calls on the Name of the Lord will be saved’.” (Romans 10: 8-13)

 

Here is the truth: We are saved by faith through the grace of God.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. day1of1 says:

    How great is our God that despite our shortcomings, He continues to love us so much.

    1. lambskinny says:

      Yes, God loves us beyond our understanding. He loves us so much that He gives His own Son that we might have life, and life abundant.

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

