“True To His Promise” ( Psalm 119: 143, NEB ) by Carley Evans

“Though I am oppressed by trouble and anxiety, Thy commandments are my continual delight.”

 

“I hope for the fulfillment of Thy Word.” (Psalm 119:147) “Hear me, as Thy Love is unchanging, and give me life, O Lord, by Thy decree.” (Psalm 119:149) “I am jubilant over Thy promise, like a man carrying off much booty.” (Psalm 119:162)

 

Despite trouble, despite oppression, despite anxiety – the psalmist expresses hope and joy “like a man carrying off much booty.” The psalmist declares that he is rich with God’s Word, enlarged by God’s Love, upheld by God’s commandments, saved by God’s decreed promise.

 

“Let my cry of joy reach Thee, O Lord; give me understanding of Thy Word. Let my supplication reach Thee; be true to Thy promise and save me.” (Psalm 119:169-170) Then, the psalmist sings: “I have strayed like a lost sheep; come, search for Thy servant, for I have not forgotten Thy commandments.” (Psalm 119:176)

 

The psalmist reminds God that yes, he knows God’s commandments, loves God’s commandments yet he also acknowledges that he “has strayed like a lost sheep” and needs God to “search” for him. The psalmist relies on God to act the part of the good Shepherd — One who searches for the lost and rejoices when His sheep are found.

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

