“Get Some Rest” ( Mark 6: 31, NIV ) by Carley Evans

My 9 year old Bichon Frise, Bolind’s Frosted Katie Hanna [Hanna for short] died suddenly this weekend. She began walking stiffly, then foaming at the mouth, vomiting water, with profound lethargy following. She died within 24 hours of the first symptoms. Apparently, the symptoms sounded like antifreeze poisoning to the vet, who was too busy to see her. And, I am currently having her dog food tested as a precaution. We buried Hanna in our backyard.

Jesus tells His apostles, “Come with Me by yourself.”

On top of my dog’s sudden death, my daughter is presently in Japan. Although she is currently safe, the constant news coverage of the six nuclear reactors in Fukushima being near meltdown has caused me some loss of sleep, despite my mental discipline of refusing to worry. I’ve actually discovered that I worry that she is worried!

Jesus says, “Come to a quiet place.”

Kindly, my supervisor at work allowed me an extra day to be at home this week. I initially thought the two days without Hanna and with my daughter in Japan might be depressing, but I needed that time to be with the Lord and to be in a quiet place.

Jesus says, “Get some rest.”

Here is the command from the Lord with which I believe many Christians have the most trouble. So much to do, so little time to do it all — how can I rest?

I can tell you from this week’s experiences — I needed a rest. I needed a quiet place. I needed to be by myself, alone with the Lord.

“Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for Him; do not fret.” (Psalm 37:7) “Get some rest.”

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

