“Who Has Measured God?” ( Isaiah 40: 13, ESV ) by Carley Evans

I admit I am disturbed now and then by persons who seem to have figured out God — who speak as if God talks to them personally, directly on a regular basis, telling them big secrets, revealing Himself to them in some peculiar manner. Before you protest — I’m not saying that God is not known to speak to His children with that still voice, leading us to turn one time to the left, another time to the right. However, one of my cautions is checking that still voice against the Word; for there are times I hear a voice inside my mind, telling me something or other. I am always fearful it is my own self speaking and not my Lord at all. I am concerned that “behold, they are all a delusion; their words are nothing.” (Isaiah 41:29) After all, “to whom will [we] liken God, or what likeness compare with Him?” (Isaiah 40:18)

“Long ago, at many times and in many ways, God spoke to our fathers by the prophets, but in these last days, He has spoken to us by His Son. He is the radiance of the glory of God and the exact imprint of His nature, and He upholds the universe by the Word of His power.” (Hebrews 1:1-2,3)

We live in “the last days,” in the time in which God “speaks to us by His Son.” In these last days, there is no special knowledge reserved for only a few. Rather God has fully revealed Himself in His Son, Jesus Christ and through His Holy Spirit.

“Whom did [God] consult, and who made [God] understand?” Do we really believe we can measure the Lord of Hosts, that we can encapsulate Him inside our idea of His Truth? “Have you not known? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; His understanding is unsearchable.” (Isaiah 40:28)

“Who has measured the Spirit of the Lord?” No one.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Amen! Your post is so true. We must remember in these last days that God has given us His Word and Jesus promised the Holy Spirit to “lead and guide us into all truth.” John16:13

    1. lambskinny says:

      Thanks “Middle Age Ramblings!”
      Do you believe – by any chance – that God actually ‘speaks’ to His children during ‘close encounters’ as in times of prayer? Or do you believe He speaks through His Word and through what appear to us to be circumstances? Carley

      1. Carley, it has been my experience in my walk with
        Christ, that God mainly speaks to me through His
        Word. However, thee has also been times that God has “spoken” to me during times of prayer as well. I always check those promptings against the truth of the Bible to make certain that it is God speaking. He will not go against His written word. I enjoyed reading your posts.
        Mike

  2. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Mike. I also find that God speaks to me primarily through His Word, which after all, contains ALL truth. Yet, there are times I do ‘hear’ His voice in my mind as I am praying. And, like you, I carefully verify those messages as His (rather than mine) against His Word; that His voice will never contradict. God bless,
    Carley

  3. It is not Jesus who speaks to day to us directly. About 2000 years ago he has given his words which can still sound today. But God who has given His Words the past ages still answers people today. Not only by the Word in the Bible, but also by His guidance in our everyday life.

  4. lambskinny says:

    And of course God’s guidance is through His Word, circumstances, and the still voice of the Holy Spirit prompting us to do the right thing, the perfect thing. Thanks, Christadelphians. God bless.

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

