“So They Argue Before The King” ( 1 Kings 3: 22, HCSB ) by Carley Evans

Two prostitutes come to Solomon, the king to seek his wisdom. Both claim to be the true mother of a surviving infant and not the mother of a deceased infant. Both live in the same house; both give birth about the same time. One infant dies in the night; the other lives. Both mothers, of course, claim the living child.

“The first woman says, ‘ My son is the living one; your son is the dead one.’ So they argue before the king.”

Solomon listens to both women, then says, ‘Bring me a sword.’ (1 Kings 3:24) With the sword in hand, Solomon orders that the infant be brought to him so that he can “cut the living boy in two and give half to one and half to the other.” (1 Kings 3:25)

The true mother immediately “feels great compassion for her son” and decides she’d rather her son live with the other woman than be lost forever to both of them. She begs Solomon, “Please don’t have him killed.” (1 Kings 3:26) But the other woman, who is embittered by her own loss, says “He is not to be mine or yours. Cut him in two!” (1 Kings 3:26)

Solomon gives the infant to the true mother.

In the United States at present, we apparently have three competing ‘mothers’ who are trying to tear this country apart so that one of them can say, “This is my country; I love it. And you? You better just leave it. Cause if I can’t have it the way I want it, then no one is going to have this country. Let’s just kill it.” The three parties — that is, the Democrats, the Republicans and the Tea Party-goers — are continuing to argue with the President rather than recognize that no one wins if no one compromises. If no one cares about the country itself, then everyone loses.

Let’s pray God gives wisdom.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Joe Quatrone says:

    Good post. I love this story about King Solomon. Great analogy to explain the problems we are currently facing.

  2. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Joe. A friend let me know that I imply that our politicians want to destroy our country which of course they don’t. Except for that, I think it’s a good analogy, too. Came to me at work yesterday while speaking with a patient. God bless. And thanks for reading my work. Carley

  3. bickleyhouse says:

    Great post! While I agree that the politicians don’t want to destroy the country, they all seem so dead-set on their own agendas (either that or just not wanting the “other guys” to win) that they aren’t seeing the big picture. I don’t know what the solution is, myself.

  4. lambskinny says:

    Bickleyhouse, I agree. That’s why I thought King Solomon’s solution might reveal the true champion — the one who really wants to help this country and not just “win” for the sake of winning. God bless.

  5. lambskinny says:

    thanks, mtsweat. God bless you, brother. Carley

  6. lambskinny says:

    Interestingly enough, I forgot that the mother whose child dies rolls over onto the baby in the night and smothers her infant by accident. Tragic. Let’s pray the Congress does not “roll over” the fiscal baby and kill it accidentally!

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

