“The Greatest Of These” ( 1 Corinthians 13: 13, HCSB ) by Carley Evans

Paul writes that three remain: “faith, hope, and love.” Then, he writes that “the greatest of these is love.” (1 Corinthians 13:13) “One and the same Spirit is active in all these;” (1 Corinthians 12:11) but the greatest spiritual gift is love.

Recently, I’ve heard Christian love poo-poohed with a resulting twinge in my heart. Yet Jesus clearly teaches us to love one another, that love is required if we are to lay down our lives for one another, and so for Him. Without love, our other gifts bring us to nothing. Love “bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends.” (1 Corinthians 13:7-8)

“When the perfect comes, the partial comes to an end. When I am a child, I speak like a child, I think like a child, I reason like a child. When I become [an adult], I put aside childish things. For now we see indistinctly, as in a mirror, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but I will know fully, as I am fully known.” (1 Corinthians 13:10-12)

In Jesus knowing me is my salvation. Because He loves me, I am able to love myself and therefore to love others. Without love, I am nothing.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Mtsweat and Debbie. God bless you.

  2. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Bickleyhouse.

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

