“Like A High Wall Collapsing” ( Isaiah 30: 21, NIV ) by Carley Evans

“The Lord longs to be gracious to [us]; He rises to show [us] compassion. For the Lord is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for Him!” writes the prophet Isaiah. (30:18)

God Himself speaks to His people, telling them how they “reject this message.” Instead, they “rely on oppression and depend on deceit,” (Isaiah 30:12) choosing to believe the lies and oppression of idols. Therefore, declares the Lord, “this sin becomes for you like a high wall, cracked and bulging, that collapses suddenly, in an instant.” (Isaiah 30:13) God sends “the bread of adversity and the water of affliction;” but “when you cry for help” He is ready and willing to be gracious. (Isaiah 30:20,19) He shows you your teachers. And, “whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears hear a voice behind you, saying, ‘This is the way; walk in it.'” (Isaiah 30:21)

When you hear that still small voice; then, says the Lord, “you defile your idols overlaid with silver and your images covered with gold; you throw them away like a menstrual cloth and say to them, ‘Away with you!'” (Isaiah 30:22)

No longer do you ask God to stop confronting you. Rather, you listen for that Word that says, “Here. This is the way; walk in it.” And, if you are honest, you add this prayer: “Lord, help my unbelief.”

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Carrie Tarabek says:

    Wonderful post Carley! Isaiah 30:21 was on my mind all day. Excellent job at expounding upon the verse! Love it! Blessings! 🙂

    1. lambskinny says:

      Thank you so much, Carrie. This verse has been on my mind today, too. God bless. And I do appreciate your comment. Carley

  2. mtsweat says:

    Yes Lord, help my unbelief.

    Thanks you Carley, these words are unbelievably meaningful right now. God bless

  3. mtsweat says:

    Okay, that was supposed to be Carley… you’re not Carrie too are you? Sorry Carley. I’m afraid it has been a super horrendous day at the grindstone… hopefully these words are spelled correctly.

  4. mtsweat says:

    Okay, now I’m really wondering if I should go to sleep. I glanced up at your response and thought I typed Carrie… sheeks, LOL, yeah, I’m losing it! God bless CARLEY – – did I get it right this time?

    1. lambskinny says:

      You got it right — absolutely! Been one of those days, huh? I was so exhausted today that I took advantage of a low caseload and came home early. Did I go to sleep? Not yet. God bless you, brother.

  5. lambskinny says:

    Thanks so much, Bonnie.

  6. You know that feeling that you get while setting in church. When the pastor is giving his sermon and you feel as if you needed to be there right at that moment. It is because that message was intended for you. This entry touched my heart in that way. God spoke through you Carley. Thank you and God Bless you.

    1. lambskinny says:

      Oh my — how my heart sings, Jeffrey. No better compliment could ever be paid to me but this one — that God spoke through me; and specially for you. Thank you so much. God is so good.

  7. lambskinny says:

    bwinwnbwi, thank you so very much.

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

