“The Things You’ve Prepared” ( Proverbs 27: 1, ESV ) by Carley Evans

God the Holy Spirit says,“Do not boast about tomorrow, for you do not know what a day may bring.” Jesus says, “Each day has enough trouble of its own” to be consumed with boasting — or worry — over tomorrow.

Jesus tells a parable, saying, “The land of a rich man produced plentifully, and he thought to himself, ‘What shall I do, for I have nowhere to store my crops?’ And he said, ‘I will do this: I will tear down my barns and build larger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods. And I will say to my soul, Soul, you have ample goods laid up for many years; relax, eat, drink, be merry.’ But God said to him, ‘Fool! This night your soul is required of you, and the things you have prepared, whose will they be?’ So is the one who lays up treasure for himself and is not rich toward God.” (Luke 12: 16-21)

Don’t say ‘tomorrow I’m going to do this or go there.’ Rather, say ‘if it is the will of God, I’m going to do this or that, go here or there.’ “The tongue is a small member, yet it boasts of great things.” (James 3:5) God the Holy Spirit says this should not be. Our tongues should not be wagging boastful plans for tomorrow.

Rather,  we ought to seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to [us].” (Matthew 6:33)

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. loopyloo305 says:

    Awesome message, sufficient unto the day!

    1. lambskinny says:

      Thanks Patricia!

      Carley

  2. mtsweat says:

    This is definately the message for our day… especially for me. Thanks Carley and God bless.

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

