“Pleasing To God” ( Proverbs 19: 21, ESV ) by Carley Evans

“Listen to advice and accept instruction, that you may gain wisdom in the future. Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the LORD that will stand.” (Proverbs 19:20-21 ESV)

Ever tried to give advice to someone who doesn’t accept it? On a more personal note, this was my life with my husband. If I gave him advice — not instruction — he resented it and me. And, no matter that my advice emerged because I loved him; at least early in our marriage. Later, the marriage was poisoned by so much, I can’t honestly say that my advice didn’t become instruction! Whether advice or instruction, he never accepted either.

Some people don’t want any help; they can’t even admit a need for help. “I’m fine,” they say. “No, I don’t need anything from you;” or even “Leave me alone, would you!” These people have everything well planned for; life is set. In their minds, they lack nothing.

“But it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.” The wise seek advice and accept instruction. They know they need both so that the future is secure, good, easier, and most importantly, pleasing to God. The more we know about God, the better prepared we are to please Him. Seeking instruction is commonsense for the Christian.

Instruction in the Word is first and foremost. Advice for living is secondary but important, too. Therefore, seek out advice. Listen to instruction, and “so gain wisdom.”

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Freedomborn says:

    Hi Carley, you had some very good thoughts…. sorry to hear about your husband and yes Men do like to lead, they were created for this but as woman we have a very important role in their lives as they do ours.

    Proverbs 4:7 Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.

    Christian Love Anne

  2. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Anne.

    Actually, giving advice and providing instruction are not necessarily trying to take the leadership role in a relationship; sometimes the woman knows the Word of God more than the man in the relationship and she is able to provide advice and instruction if the man will humble himself and listen. Granted, perhaps the woman should have sought out and married a man with more knowledge, but if she didn’t God is able to use her to benefit the man.

    Spiritual headship is ultimately loving the woman as the man loves his own body; as Christ loves the church.

    A woman’s place is wherever God wants her. And wisdom is valuable wherever it comes from.

    In Jesus’ Love, Carley

  3. lambskinny says:

    Thanks so much, Susie. I appreciate the rating, too! – assuming it came from you, that is. God bless. Carley

  4. Freedomborn says:

    Hi Carley what did Susie say ? I can’t find her comment here and it has been the same other times, do you delete their comments ? just wondering with not knowing much about Bloging.

    I think the Scripture below sums up Godly wisdom we know the Scriptures also refer to wordly wisdom but that should not be our main focus, although sadly it is for many they don’t ask God for His wisdom and even if they do they still depend on others or their own understanding

    Job 28:20-28 Whence then cometh wisdom? and where is the place of understanding? Then did he see it, and declare it; he prepared it, yea, and searched it out. And unto man he said, Behold, the fear of the LORD, that is wisdom; and to depart from evil is understanding.

    Wisdom is not about great worldly learning it is about Great Respect and Trust in our God of Love.

    Christian Love Anne.

  5. Lambskinny says:

    Hey Anne – no I only delete my own comments. Susie didn’t comment. She “liked” my post and rated it too. So I thanked her – a habit I picked up along the way. Carley

  6. Freedomborn says:

    It’s a good habit Carley, I must seek to do it too, we all need encouragement and support and as the Body of Christ we uplift each other with our gifts and talents and we are equipped to fulfil it the good works God has prepared in advance for us to do, thanks for the tip I’m learning bit by bit but still not sure what press it means.

    Kind regards Anne

  7. lambskinny says:

    Anne,
    I agree — we all need encouragement and support.
    And, I’m with you; having little to no idea what ‘press it’ means. It seems to just repost your post, I guess.
    Thanks for the kind regards, btw.
    God’s blessings to you, Carley

  8. lambskinny says:

    Thanks so much, M.T. And, God bless! Carley

  9. lambskinny says:

    Thank you Patricia! Carley

  10. mtsweat says:

    Excellent words of advice Carley. I must catch up and stay current on my reading of everyone’s posts that I’ve fallen behind on. If I had read this post, I probably would have added a couple of qualifying statements to my most recent post. But then, I already contend with keeping my notes brief enough to ensure they are read. Anyway, Thanks for your willingness to be an open vessel… cracked pots allow a lot more light to shine than sealed containers. God bless you my good friend.

  11. lambskinny says:

    Thanks M.T. I really appreciate your friendship and your kind encouragement. I enjoy your posts so much. Thanks for being there. God bless you and yours. Carley

  12. notsamson says:

    “The more we know about God, the better prepared we are to please Him”….. great words

    1. lambskinny says:

      Thanks, NotSam. Amen. Carley

  13. Freedomborn says:

    Carley regardless of what a person says, God tells us to test their spirit, as I explained Sam says one thing then changes his mind, this shows Cultish behaviour, I have worked in Ministry with Cults and know their agenda God tells us not to let them into our homes and a Blog is like a Home… it’s your choice but be very careful you may end up very deceived and others too.

    Sam’s response below to me when I asked him about the Godhead or Trinity as They are called today meaning 3 in One …

    Thank you for your question madam. I am not sure am exactly clear on your question, however, I feel as though too much emphasis being laid on the this “trinity” stuff.

    I do not see the fuss.

    Take Care Carley – Christian Love Anne.

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

