“Search Me, Know Me, See Me, Lead Me” ( Psalm 139: 23, HCSB ) by Carley Evans

David, a man after God’s own heart, sings:

“Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my concerns. See if there is any offensive way in me; lead me in the everlasting way.” (Psalm 139:23-24)

David admits he doesn’t understand God’s thoughts. After all, he says, “how vast their sum is!” (Psalm 139:17) God has so many thoughts, “they outnumber the grains of sand;” yet when David wakes, he discovers “[he] is still with [God].” (Psalm 139:18) God does not get distracted. He is always aware of David’s heart, of his concerns, of anything offensive within him; and God always leads David in the way of everlasting life.

“For [God’s] faithful love to us is great; the Lord’s faithfulness endures forever! Hallelujah!” (Psalm 117:2, NIV)

 

28 Comments Add yours

  1. Freedomborn says:

    Hi Carley, King David didn’t understand God as we do today because He didn’t have the Holy Spirit in the same way as we do but His heart was focused on God and what He wanted and he was lead by The Spirit untill he fell into sin by his unforgivness and through following Pagan practices which finally lead him to commit Adultery and Murder but unlike King Saul, David came to heart repentance as you shared. The Scriptures below and there are others show the difference in our understanding of God that we have when Spirit filled than David did.

    1 Corinthians 2:1-16 …… (9-16) But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that Love Him. But God hath revealed them unto us by His Spirit: for the Spirit searcheth all things, yea, the deep things of God. For what man knoweth the things of a man, save the spirit of man which is in him? even so the things of God knoweth no man, but the Spirit of God. Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit which is of God; that we might know the things that are freely given to us of God. Which things also we speak, not in the words which man’s wisdom teacheth, but which the Holy Ghost Teacheth; comparing spiritual things with Spiritual. But the natural man receiveth not the things of The Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are Spiritually discerned. But he that is Spiritual judgeth all things, yet he himself is judged of no man. For who hath known the mind of the Lord, that he may instruct Him? but we have the mind of Christ.

    Matthew 10:26-27 Fear them not therefore: for there is nothing covered, that shall not be revealed; and hid, that shall not be known. What I tell you in darkness, that speak ye in light: and what ye hear in the ear, that preach ye upon the housetops.

    I’m not into housetops but Blogs are a good start, what about you do you like the heights Carley?

    Christian Love Anne.

    1. lambskinny says:

      God is the same today, tomorrow and yesterday, Anne. The work of God the Holy Spirit is the same in Old Testament times as it is now; as it was at and after Pentecost. God comes upon people He chooses in power, whether before Jesus or after Jesus.

      Blessings to you, Anne.
      Carley

      1. Freedomborn says:

        Hi Carley, it is True the Holy Spirit is unchanging but we need to remember why Jesus had to come and die for us, without the Holy Spirit empowering us we can’t keep the Commandments and it was only after Jesus died and was resurrected that we could we be sealed by the Holy Spirit, meaning indwelt by Him, the Old Testament Saints only had the Hope of this, yes the Holy Spirit worked in their lives as He does with us, we see this with Job too and others He even gives Spiritual gifts, King Saul could Prophesy, but until we come to heart repentance we can’t be indwelt by Him and Jesus sacrificial Sacrifice was not just so we would be forgiven of our past sins but so we would be set free from the bondage and Slavery of sin because as you know in the Old Testament they had to have continual animal sacrifices for forgiveness of their sins in Christ Jesus who is the final sacrifice we don’t because we no longer sin when we are perfected in Love until then we are covered by God’s grace, as were the Old Testament Saints.

        Carley, if we are to live in obedience it must come from the empowering of the Holy Spirit, we cannot Love as God does Sacrificially unless we are Spirit filled and we can’t be Spirit filled if we walk in disobedience, Good and evil cannot co – exist they are not in Unity, this is why we must put to death the flesh and be Born again of God’s seed….I will continue on the next post.

        Kind regards Anne.

  2. lambskinny says:

    Thanks so much Susie! God bless!

  3. lambskinny says:

    God bless you Jeffrey!

  4. lambskinny says:

    Hey Anne! The view is fine! Thanks, Carley

  5. lambskinny says:

    Good afternoon, Michael. Thanks so much! I’m pleased you like my note. Carley

  6. Freedomborn says:

    Who changed your mind ? – Hey Anne! The view is fine! Thanks, Carley

    Continued…

    Hi again Carley…. when we are cleansed of all unrighteousness , perfected in Love, conformed in the image of Jesus Christ , and we have His mind, we cannot sin because we will not choose to sin but to walk in Love but until then we are under God’s grace and as we submit to God and Trust Him and as we choose to obey Him and walk in Love He will empower us to do so because it is God’s perfect and Loving will for us and we will know this Truth and it will set us free. We cannot walk in the fruit of the Spirit and do evil too, we won’t want to, our Love for God and others will not allow us too, it would be against our new God given Nature. As you can see in the Scriptures below and there are many more that confirm this Truth if you would like them. …

    John 8:34-36 Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, everyone who sins is a slave to sin. Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to it forever. So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

    1 John 3:1-11 ( 9) No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God.

    Romans 6:6- 7 For we know that our old self was crucified with Him so that the body of sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves to sin— because anyone who has died has been freed from sin.

    Romans 6:17-19 But thanks be to God that, though you used to be slaves to sin, you wholeheartedly obeyed the form of teaching to which you were entrusted. You have been set free from sin and have become slaves to righteousness. I put this in human terms because you are weak in your natural selves. Just as you used to offer the parts of your body in slavery to impurity and to ever-increasing wickedness, so now offer them in slavery to righteousness leading to Holiness

    Take Care in Jesus – Christian Love Anne.

    1. lambskinny says:

      Anne –

      Yes we are indeed indwelt by the Holy Spirit; we are sealed for the day of our redemption –

      Through His power alone. That is my only point – it is God’s power that enabled the saints of the OT to obey.

      Blessings, Carley

      1. Freedomborn says:

        Yes, He did Carley, so do you always obey ? are you perfected in Love or are you still aiming for it ? or are you going to continue to sin till you die, which means you have not been set free?

        Blessings Anne.

  7. lambskinny says:

    Anne, I’d rather ask you the same question. Do you ALWAYS obey? In Jesus’ love, Carley

  8. Freedomborn says:

    Carley we don’t look to each other for confirmation of what is God’s will is for us, we go to Him … I have weaknesses and shortcomings but no I don’t sin, I do as the Scriptures tell me, I reckon I’m dead to sin to say different is disobedience, also as a man thinkith so He does, yes I always seek to obey when I know something is God’s will.

    Since I came to heart repentance I did sin but I asked forgiveness, Jesus is our Advocate before we are perfected in Love and Born again of God’s Spirit after which we don’t sin. I don’t continue to choose to sin or do I condone it as ok and claim I will sin till I die because I’m just human, which is not what the Scriptures tell us we are when we are Born again. I have been tempted but each time I asked Jesus for the Victory and so I continue to walk in that Victory I’m aiming for perfection in Christ Jesus. Before you claim I’m calling God a liar because I said I don’t sin read that verse in context , what is referring to is if we say we don’t need Salvation because we don’t sin then yes indeed we are calling God a liar, we have all sinned and fallen short of the Glory of God and need His forgiveness, if it meant anything else it would contradict a lot of other Scripture including the beginning of 1 John 2 .

    Romans 6:11 Likewise reckon ye also yourselves to be dead indeed unto sin, but alive unto God through Jesus Christ our Lord.

    1 Peter 4:1 For as much then as Christ hath suffered for us in the flesh, arm yourselves likewise with the same mind: for he that hath suffered in the flesh hath ceased from sin;

    1John 4:16-17 And we have known and believed the Love that God hath to us. God is Love; and he that dwelleth in Love dwelleth in God, and God in him. Herein is our Love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as He is, so are we in this world

    Romans 6:21-23 What fruit had ye then in those things whereof ye are now ashamed? for the end of those things is death. But now being made free from sin, and become servants to God, ye have your fruit unto holiness, and the end everlasting life. For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.

    So do you sin Carley?

    Christian Love Anne – I’m off to bed.

    1. lambskinny says:

      As for me, God tells me that my faults and shortcomings are sins. So I have answered your question before and now once more. In Christ, Carley

      1. Freedomborn says:

        Carly what Scripture do you have to support that your weaknesses and shortcomings are sins, but perhaps first you may need to explain what you think they are, many are confused about them and do think they are sinning when they are not.

        Satan likes to condemn and so do other people as they judge critically by their flesh why they think others don’t measure up and this is what God is talking about when He tells us not to judge others but to take the beam out of our own eye first.

        Christian Love Anne.

      2. lambskinny says:

        Anne, allow me to ask you what makes you believe shortcomings and faults are not sin? Did Jesus have shortcomings? Was He flawed? God bless, dear sister, Carley

        1. Freedomborn says:

          Carley by your answer, I believe you don’t understand what shortcomings and weaknesses are and the difference between them and sin but if you are interested in knowing please e-mail me, the address is on my profile, it is not my wish to argue with you or be contentious but I’m happy to reason together with you in private not in public … your choice.

          Christian Love Anne

      3. lambskinny says:

        PS Anne, Satan has NO power to condemn me. None at all. Thanks, Carley

        1. Freedomborn says:

          What are you talking about Carley ? I can’t understand your reasoning or why you feel the need to contradict what I say all the time and without Scripture to confirm what you claim or why you think I’m in error, so perhaps it would be better if I just moved on and leave you with your own perspectives, logic and understanding but you have my e-mail address if you want to reason, sorry but that is how it will be or nothing, you can respect my wishes as your senior or not, … your choice.

          Christian Love Anne.

      4. lambskinny says:

        Anne, I’m not arguing. And I am not interested in contacting you privately. If we can’t discuss this sort of question in public, what’s the point? This discussion is not for my benefit or perhaps not even for yours, but for anyone who may wonder if there is a difference between failings and sins.

        I believe that God’s perfect holiness demands perfect holiness from us. Because we are not perfect, He died on a cross so that we might live with Him in eternity, clothed with His Righteousness, not our own.

        If you want to discuss that, I’m right here.

        God bless, Carley

      5. lambskinny says:

        Anne, I’m sorry you feel this way. I really don’t mean to contradict you. I am trying to answer your questions and your objections. My scriptural references – which I have provided – don’t seem to make any impact on your opinion that you do not sin. You want to challenge my belief; I am no longer interested in challenging yours. I believe you have a right to your beliefs as I have a right to mine.

        That I happen to believe mine are scriptural is perhaps just my opinion, but I don’t think so. Can I prove it to you? I highly doubt it. Can I present my beliefs; I certainly can and should.

        I don’t need to do that privately.
        The good news is public, always.
        Do take care; I actually am glad you’ve made an effort to comment. I wish you wouldn’t feel discouraged that I don’t agree with you.
        In Christ’s Love, Carley

        1. Freedomborn says:

          It’s not a matter of not agreeing with you but confirmation from the Scriptures, it seems you want to argue Carley and not reason because without Scripture to confirm what you believe then you are arguing, it’s just worldly understanding and the same when you put down what I share. I have asked you to give Scripture that confirms we Sin till we die but you haven’t and I have shared many that confirm we don’t when we have been perfected in Love, so I’m not really interested in what you or others think that is in opposition to the Scriptures because it’s just based on your own understanding or what you have been taught in error. What I respect is the Scriptures confirmation and you haven’t given any, just what you believe or others do and when I show you with Scripture why you and they are in error, no comment.

          As for Satan he controls this world and those who walk in opposition to God’s guidelines, he has no control over Christians but he can deceive and temp us until we are Born again of God’s seed and so walk fully in the fruit of The Spirit in Christ Jesus, this is after our evil flesh nature has been put to death and our souls purified then as we have The mind of Christ we always choose to walk in Holiness and don’t sin, it is then that the devil flees and I have explained before why.

          Christian Love Anne.

      6. lambskinny says:

        Anne, I am talking about Satan attempting to make us feel condemned, guilty since you brought him up. I was just confirming what I figured you also believe — that Satan has NO power over us. I didn’t think that would upset you. I thought you’d say, “amen” to that Anne. I really did. I’m sorry if I’m disturbing you. God bless. Carley

      7. lambskinny says:

        Anne,
        The scriptures you seek are all through the three years I’ve been writing this blog. God speaks through His entire Word, not through isolated verses. His whole Word teaches us that we sin and that it is His grace that saves us.

        To pick and choose verses out of context defeats the purpose of seeing the whole, at this point in our discussion.

        I am not arguing with you.

        I love you.
        Take care.
        In Jesus, Carley

      8. lambskinny says:

        Anne,
        You can take a look at Paul in 2 Corinthians 10:2-5 in which he speaks about not wanting to come to the church in Corinth to rebuke Christians who “are behaving in an unspiritual way.” He “plans to challenge” these people who are not behaving as they should be, considering they are “born again.”
        It’s the same point I made before. Paul need not rebuke Christians if Christians do not sin.
        Love in Jesus, Carley

  9. lambskinny says:

    Sleep well Anne. God’s blessings. Carley

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

