“He Is The Image” ( Colossians 1: 15, NIV ) by Carley Evans

Paul tells us that Jesus Christ “is the image of the invisible God.”

“He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together.” (Colossians 1:17)

The author of Hebrews tells us that Jesus Christ “is the radiance of God’s glory, and the exact representation of His being, sustaining all things by His powerful Word.” (Hebrews 1:3)

Jesus Himself says, “Don’t you believe I Am in the Father, and that the Father is in Me? The Words I say to you are not My own. Rather it is the Father, living in Me, who is doing His work. Believe Me when I say that I Am in the Father and the Father is in Me; or at least believe on the evidence of the miracles themselves.” (John 14:10-11)

New age thinking bewilders me. I’ve heard, “Jesus was a great teacher” from so many people through the years, it makes me want to laugh. I’m sorry, but if Jesus is not the Son of God, if He is not the image and radiance and exact representation of the invisible God, then the man was a lunatic. After all, this is a man who says, “Before Abraham was, I Am.” Reminds me of the words of the Wizard of Oz, “Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain.” If Jesus is not God, then we should pay him no attention.

But, of course, Jesus is the Son of God and is the image and radiance and exact representation of the invisible God. Therefore, we owe Him our entire allegiance: our attention and devotion.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Lambskinny says:

    Thanks Don!

  2. Lambskinny says:

    Thanks Bwinwnbwi!

  3. lambskinny says:

    God bless and thank you, Michael and Lady Deidre! Carley

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

