“Stones Cry Out” ( Luke 19: 40, NIV ) by Carley Evans

Jesus rides into Jerusalem on a colt “which no one has ever ridden.” (Luke 19:30) The crowd of disciples throw their cloaks in front of the colt as Jesus approaches. The disciples “joyfully praise God in loud voices for all the miracles they have seen.” (Luke 19:37) Some of the Pharisees in the crowd ask Jesus to rebuke His disciples. Jesus says, “If they keep quiet, the stones will cry out.” (Luke 19:40)

Even if no one ever rejoices over Jesus’ birth and resurrection, the earth itself shouts of His glory. I remember the first time I heard the stones cry out. I was 19, camping alone in the late autumn, early winter weather in a state park. In my life, I’d never felt so alone. As I walked around the edge of the woods picking up kindling for my fire, I glanced up at the stars in the immense blackness of the sky and felt as tiny as the speck I am in the universe. I’d never before felt so small and insignificant.

All around me, I heard the stones, the trees, the sticks, the leaves, the stars cry out:

“Blessed is the king who comes in the name of the Lord! Peace in heaven and glory in the highest!” (Luke 19:38)

5 Comments Add yours

  1. lambskinny says:

    Thank you Patricia and Talin.

  2. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Susie, Lady D, and Drusilla.

  3. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Peace in Heaven.

  4. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Jessie. Merry Christmas!

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

