“Time Passed” ( 1 Peter 4:3, ESV ) by Carley Evans

English: Air Force Super Bowl Sunday Celebration

Tomorrow is “SUPER-BOWL SUNDAY” a day of big neighborhood parties, drinking, cheering, bickering, but hopefully not murdering as in the row between rival fans at a soccer game in Egypt recently.

Superbowl Sunday is the anniversary of the day my x-husband told me he was “giving up” on me with plans to abandon me and our children for another woman in the coming fall of 2004. Tomorrow, for me, is forever a blackened day — not a ruined day; rather a day with the shadow of a really big black eye.

“3 For the time that is past suffices for doing what the Gentiles want to do, living in sensuality, passions, drunkenness, orgies, drinking parties, and lawless idolatry.”

Of course, I’m not saying my x-husband is not forgiven. I’m certain God is fully capable of forgiving my x-husband of his adultery. In fact, I am saying that the past is the past. Tomorrow is not a day to bring back “what the Gentiles want to do,” not a time for “sensuality, drunkenness, orgies, drinking parties.”

I happen to like football. I don’t idolize it or its heroes. Rather, I enjoy rooting for the underdog. This year, I don’t even know which team that is — I’ll figure it out as I watch the game. If I had to guess, I’d say I’ll be cheering on the NY Giants.

I’ll likely drink a beer, and eat some cheese and crackers. But I won’t be focused on the past or harboring ill-will toward the man I promised to love and cherish til the day I die.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Forgiveness is wonderful. I am working on getting it too. I as a mentally (stable) ill person want it from my family. I don’t want to remember or be reminded of those days any longer. The Lord works at his own pace on things. I don’t live for any of these things, football, etc. What we live for is being in the Lord and him working through us. Then will come our eternity with him. Thanking him for Grace through Faith, because we could be like the rest, still…

    1. lambskinny says:

      Amen, bipolar1forever! Blessings to you!

  2. SPTP2011 says:

    Cheers to the Past
    Going ‘Forward’ to the Future
    God Bless

    1. lambskinny says:

      Amen; here’s to “going forward into the future!” Thanks Susie!

  3. Jeff says:

    That’s sad…Sorry you had to go through that. I had a similar experience almost 30 years ago. God used it for good. Almost 27 years worth of good! Enjoy the game!

    1. lambskinny says:

      Thanks Jeff. God used for my good what was intended for evil — Praising Him every day! Amen! Carley

  4. lambskinny says:

    Thank you so much Chief of Least — glad you like my post! God bless.

  5. Will says:

    I applaud your post here. If we allow our thoughts to be dominated by an unforgiving spirit on our part, it seems to me we wind up becoming ever more focused on ourselves, in a downward spiral leading to depression. The Lord certainly knows this, which may be part of why we are told to forgive others. It is certainly not an easy thing to do sometimes, but He does give us grace to do so.

    1. lambskinny says:

      Thank you Will for your wonderful comment. I so appreciate your support. God is so kind; how can we not be also? In Jesus, Carley

  6. mtsweat says:

    Marvelous testimony of Jesus’ strengthening love for His, Carley. Praying for a special blessing your way. God bless, good friend.

    1. lambskinny says:

      Thanks Michael. I do appreciate your prayers and your friendship. God is so good! Carley

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

