“Every Tongue, Every Knee” ( Romans 14:11, HCSB ) by Carley Evans

Chinese Stamp, 1950. Joseph Stalin and Mao Zed...
Chinese Stamp, 1950. Joseph Stalin and Mao Zedong are shaking hands. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Jesus tells us the truth. One day — “as He lives” — every individual who ever existed will bow to Him and give God praise. Now I can see every person kneeling in humility before God, but imagining every one praising God is not as easy. I’ve heard such vile, foul statements made against Him in my time here on earth that imagining those same persons speaking words of praise is difficult.

Think of Hitler or Stalin or Manson speaking words of praise to God, and you may have some appreciation for what I am saying. Praises from such men are incongruous with their personalities.

So, what happens? What changes? Do their hearts change at the judgment? Do they become like Job who said to the Lord, “I know that Thou canst do every thing, and that no thought can be withheld from Thee. Who is he who hideth counsel without knowledge? Therefore I have uttered that which I understood not; things too wonderful for me, which I knew not. Hear, I beseech Thee, and I will speak; I will demand of Thee, and declare Thou unto me. I have heard of Thee by the hearing of the ear, but now mine eye seeth Thee. Wherefore I abhor myself, and repent in dust and ashes.” (Job 42:2-6, KJV)

Will persons such as Kim Jong-il and Saddam Hussein suddenly recognize God and “abhor” themselves? Will they see God and “repent in dust and ashes?” As they bend their knees and fall on their faces, will their mouths open in songs of praise?

Amazing!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Good question. While I have often quoted the verse, I hadn’t given much thought as to people like the ones you mention. However, I must presume they will be forced to bow and recognise who Jesus is when they see the reality of events. Their bowing, of course, will be too late. They will be full of regrets and other feelings as they realise their fate, but they will be unable to repent. Their declaration that Jesus is Lord is not of praise, but an “Oh! No!”

    1. lambskinny says:

      Are you certain they will not speak words of praise? Jesus says they will. Of course Jesus also says there will be “weeping and gnashing of teeth” and that the sheep will be separated from the goats, the wheat will be harvested while the chaff is burned off. Blessings, Meeting in the Clouds. Carley

  2. NCRGlory says:

    I don’t believe these people were ever truly alive, their carnal nature, ignorance, and the destruction of sin weighed upon them in this life. Christ promised before He was lifted on the Cross that He’d drag all men to Himself. I believe persons like Hitler will genuinely come (through His persuasion) and into confidence of His grace. Remember that St. Paul said not to regard anyone according to the flesh aka carnal nature.

    It changes even more when you open your eyes and see the person as Christ sees them: redeemed and loved!

    1. lambskinny says:

      You are brave and bold to say so! I definitely know NO ONE IS BEYOND the love of God and NO ONE is able to resist His power. Blessings, NCRGlory. Carley

  3. It is both awesome and sobering at the same time to realize that everyone from the least to the greatest will one day bow to Christ. As for me, I look forward to the day when I get the opportunity to worship and praise Him for His matchless greatness, and His mercy towards me. Awesome thought in this post!

    Mike

    1. lambskinny says:

      Thanks so much, Mike. I appreciate that and you! Blessings, Carley

  4. lambskinny says:

    Thank you Surviving through Healing.

  5. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Michael. God bless you and yours.

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

