“No Dread, No Fear” ( Psalm 56:4, WYC ) by Carley Evans

David with the Head of Goliath
David with the Head of Goliath (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

‘What people do to me, I shall not dread or fear for I hope and trust in God,’ sings the psalmist.

“In God I shall praise my words; I hoped in God, I shall not dread what thing flesh, or man, shall do to me. (Yea, I shall praise God with my words; for I trust in God, and I shall not fear what any person shall do to me.)”

With complete trust in God, it makes sense that I would not fear anything someone might decide to do to me. Fear and dread and worry indicate a lack of trust in God, especially a diminishing of belief in His perfect will. Jesus, for a moment, asks God the Father if perhaps His perfect will might be fulfilled in some other perfect way than through crucifixion and death. But, within the same breath, Jesus says: ‘But not My will Lord, but Yours.’

Since Jesus is without sin, it follows His dread of the cross is part of His sacrifice for us. His fear relieves our fear just as His punishment deflects the punishment meant for us.

So, day in and day out, our worries and fears and dreads — though natural reactions to the stresses of living — should never define us. What should define you and me is our trust and hope in God, who is perfect and “who works all things together for good to those who are call according to His purposes.”

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Susie and Jeff. Blessings to you each.

  2. lambskinny says:

    Thank you Sharmishtha.

  3. lambskinny says:

    Thank you Drusilla.

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

