“A High Calling” ( Philippians 3:14, KJV ) by Carley Evans

surprise • inside
(Photo credit: origamidon)

“I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.”

What’s my prize? I used to buy Crackerjacks and open the box primarily for the little plastic prize sealed in cellophane – a small compass, a tiny magnifying glass, a delicate necklace.
What’s my mark? I used to run the 50 yard dash in third and sixth grades. I remember the command, “On your mark, get set, go” before taking off as fast as I could possibly dash.
What’s my high calling? Pressing forward? Seeking God in Christ Jesus? Is this the prize I was hoping for when I opened the Crackerjacks’ box? Is this the mark where I waited before the race? Am I understanding anything?
I guess it’s not my high calling; it’s God’s. His high calling is fulfilled in His Son, Jesus Christ. Press on to take hold of Him, for He does not fail. He does not break. He does not disappear. He is the mark; He is the high calling; He is the prize.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Clotilda and Matt.

  2. lambskinny says:

    Thanks so much, Jeff and Susie.

    PS – Jeff, I’m on Chapter 13 of companion novel to METAL MAN WALKING – working title ANNIE’S DREAM… so far, 11,032 words! Pray for me!

  3. lambskinny says:

    Thank you so much, Michael.

  4. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Ocean Bound…

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

