“I Had A Dream!” ( Jeremias 23: 23-25, KNOX ) by Carley Evans

Water dream
Water dream (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

 

23 God am I, the Lord says, only when I stand near, and not when I am far away? 24 Where, he would know, will you hide so close that he is not watching you, he, the Lord, that fills heaven and earth? 25 No word, he says, but reaches my ears when one of these prophets gives false guidance in my name; I had a dream, he will tell you, I had a dream!

 

The world of the internet with its social media opens my eyes and mental ears to this refrain “I had a dream!” rather more often than when I walk down the street. Often the refrain is “God gave me a dream, and in this dream He said…”

Is this prophecy? I peruse some of these “dreams” occasionally ( not very often ) and always wonder how someone is able to say “this came from God.”

Look at the Holy Scripture. Think how many years and how many men ( mostly men ) read and prayed over it to decide if it belonged in the Canon, if it is actually God’s infallible Word. Then think about that person on Facebook or Twitter whose dream is supposedly from God.

I cringe.

 

One Comment Add yours

Tell Grace Partakers what you think...

